Open AIR is carried out with financial support from the International Development Research Centre, Canada, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, and Queen Elizabeth Scholars. The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent those of Open AIR’s funders.

International Development Research Centre

The International Development Research Centre (IDRC) is a Crown corporation set up by the Parliament of Canada in 1970 to support developing countries in using science and technology to find solutions to social, economic, and environmental problems. IDRC’s support is directed towards creating local research communities whose work can build healthier, more equitable, and more prosperous societies.

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) is the federal research funding agency that promotes and supports postsecondary-based research and research training in the humanities and social sciences. Created by an act of Canada’s Parliament in 1977, SSHRC reports to Parliament through the Minister of Industry.

Queen Elizabeth Scholars

The Canadian Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarships is activated through Rideau Hall Foundation, Community Foundations of Canada, and Universities Canada. Its aim is to activate a dynamic community of young global leaders across Canada and the Commonwealth to create lasting impacts both at home and abroad through cross-cultural exchanges encompassing international education, discovery and inquiry, and professional experiences.

Previous Supporters

A special thank you to all those who have helped us to get to where we are now!

German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

Open Society Foundations

Department of Science and Technology (DST), South Africa

National Intellectual Property Management Office (NIPMO), South Africa

Natural Justice: Lawyers for Communities and the Environment

The ABS Capacity Development Initiative

OpenUCT Initiative, University of Cape Town

Creative Commons (CC)


Shuttleworth Foundation

Program on Information Justice and Intellectual Property (PJIP), American University Washington College of Law

The American Assembly, Columbia University

The Centre for Internet Society, India

Consumers International

Department for International Development, Canada